About the Senior Society
Members Directory
Bylaws & Policies
Meeting Information
Match Information
Subspecialty Training & Fellowships
RUNN Course
Boot Camp Courses
Related Links
SNS News
Winn Prize 2011

Deceased Member

Theodore Rasmussen, MD
Theodore Rasmussen, MD

Elected: 1950

Senior: 1970 Vice President: 1968-1969
Distinguished Service Award: 1989


THEODORE BROWN RASMUSSEN was born on April 28, 1910. He is a graduate of the University of Minnesota (B.S., M.B., 1934; M.D., 1935; M.Sci. in Neurology, 1939). He interned at Kings County Hospital in Brooklyn, New York (1934-35). He was a Fellow in Neurology at the Mayo Foundation (1936-39). He completed his neurosurgical training at Montreal Neurological Institute (Fellow in Neurosurgery, 1939-42).

He served in the United States Army during World War II, as Chief of the Neurosurgical Section, 14th Evacuation Hospital on the Stillwell Road, C.B.I. Theatre of Operations (1943-46), and was discharged with the rank of Lieutenant Colonel.

After his discharge from military service, he returned to Montreal Neurological Institute, where he was Assistant Neurosurgeon and a Lecturer in Neurology and Neurosurgery at McGill University (1946-47). In 1947 he became Professor of Neurological Surgery at the University of Chicago, a post he held for seven years.

In 1954 he became Professor of Neurosurgery and Neurology at McGill University, His hospital appointments at the Neurological Institute included Neurosurgeon (1954-72), Director of the Institute (1964-72), Senior Neurosurgical Consultant (1972 to date). He also served as Neurosurgeon-in-Chief at the Royal Victoria Hospital.

Dr. Rasmussen received the Outstanding Achievement Award from the University of Minnesota (1958), and the same award from the University of Chicago (1963). Subsequent awards include the Distinguished Service Award of the Society of Neurological Surgeons; McGill University Emeritus Award; Honorary Doctor of Medicine, Edinburgh University, Scotland; and Honorary Doctor of Medicine, Umeo University, Sweden.

His professional memberships include: American Medical Association; American Association of Neurological Surgeons (President, 1963); Canadian Neurological Society; American Academy of Neurology; Fellow, Royal College of Surgeons of Canada; American Academy Neurological Surgeons (President 1964); Neurosurgical Society of America; American Neurological Association (Vice-President, 1967); Canadian Medical Association; American Association for the Advancement of Science; American Epilepsy Society (President, 1962); Canadian Association of Neurosurgeons (Chairman, 1961); Association of the Neurosurgeons of the Province of Quebec (President, 1961); Alpha Omega Alpha; and Sigma Xi. He was the representative of the Society of Neurological Surgeons to the World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies (1964-69).

After his resignation as Director of the Montreal Neurological Institute, where he was succeeded by Dr. William Feindel, Dr. Rasmussen has continued in neurosurgical work and research.

Dr. Rasmussen married Catherine Archibald in 1947. Catherine died in 1998. They are the parents of four: Donald, Ruth, Mary, and Linda, and grandparents of seven.

  New Search

Copyright © 2008 The Society of Neurological Surgeons