About the Senior Society
Members Directory
Bylaws & Policies
Meeting Information
Match Information
Subspecialty Training & Fellowships
RUNN Course
Boot Camp Courses
Related Links
SNS News
Winn Prize 2011

Senior Member

Bryce K. A. Weir, MD
Contact Information
Bryce K. A. Weir, MD
Parksville, BC

Elected: 1980

BRYCE WEIR was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, on April 29, 1936. He grew up in Montreal. At McGill University attended the Faculty of Medicine, from which he was graduated in 1960. He is currently Professor Emeritus at the University of Alberta and The University of Chicago.

He practiced neurosurgery at the University of Alberta for 25 years, becoming Director of the Division of Neurosurgery and subsequently Chairman and Walter Stirling Anderson Professor of the Department of Surgery and Surgeon-in-Chief at the University of Alberta Hospitals. Dr. Weir was president of the Canadian Neurosurgical Society, the Canadian Congress of Neurological Sciences, the Canadian Stroke Society, and the Alberta Medical Association.

Editorial responsibilities include memberships on the boards of the Journal of Neurosurgery, the Neurosurgery Quarterly, Journal of Cerebrovascular Disease and Neurosurgery. In 1993-1994 he was chairman of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Neurosurgery. Dr. Weir served on the Neurology “A” Study Section of the National Institutes of Health from 1991-1993. The Medical Research Council of Canada and the National Institutes of Health funded his cerebrovascular laboratory.

He has been invited speaker at more than 140 meetings on four continents and visiting professor at more than 70 universities. He has been invited to give 18 named lectureships including the “White” at Harvard, the “Boldrey” at the University of California at San Francisco and the “Gainey” at the Mayo Clinic.

Publications number over 275, including the textbooks Aneurysms Affecting the Nervous System and Subarachnoid Hemorrhage: Causes and Cures of which he was sole author, and Cerebral Vasospasm, which he co-authored. He was the neurosurgical editor for A Primer on Cerebrovascular Disease and Stroke, 4th edition.

His memberships include: The Chicago Surgical Society, the Chicago Neurological Society, the American and Canadian Colleges of Surgeons, the AAcNS, the AANS, SNS, the American Surgical Association, and the “Fellowship of Academic Neurosurgeons.”

He was awarded the Wood Gold Medal from McGill University, the Hans Berger Prize of the American Electroencephalographic Society, The Grass Gold Medal and Award of the Society of Neurological Surgeons, Honorary Fellowship in the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, and was made an officer of the Order of Canada in 1995.

In July, 1992, he moved to the United States and was appointed the Maurice Goldblatt Professor in Surgery and Neurology and Chief of Neurosurgery at the University of Chicago. He assumed the Directorship of the Brain Research Institute the following year. Prior to retirement, he was Interim Dean of the Biological Sciences Division and the Pritzker School of Medicine, and Vice-President for Medical Affairs at The University of Chicago, 2001-2002. He was elected to membership in the Institute of Medical of the National Academy of Sciences in 1997.

He is married to Mary Lou Weir. They have two daughters, Leanora and Glyncora and a son, Brocke.

  New Search

Copyright © 2008 The Society of Neurological Surgeons